FROM THE ARCHIVES: LEFT-BEHIND PAINTING

02/16/2010 at 10:18 am 2 comments

Seven years ago**, I painted this little angel, walked to the nearby supermarket, and left it in the entranceway, near where all the free weeklies are dropped. I had some shopping to do, and hoped it would be gone by the time I finished.

It was.

Fast-forward five, maybe six years later. I meet the person who found it. A couple. They saw it when they walked in to the store, and made the decision that if it was still there on their way out, they’d take it. They did. And they told me that, ever since, it’s been their guardian angel of sorts, for every new place they’ve moved to.

** (You can tell it’s old, because I don’t sign my work like that anymore.)

Entry filed under: Paintings. Tags: , , , , .

SKETCHBOOK PAGES HAND-LETTERING

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Layla  |  02/17/2010 at 3:16 pm

    I like that story. You are a bringer of happy. That’s why I like you.

    Reply
    • 2. dwellephant  |  02/17/2010 at 6:04 pm

      Thanks. I like bringing the happy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



