HAND-LETTERING

02/17/2010 at 7:00 pm 1 comment

That clip first aired almost a decade ago– a few years after I had the pleasure of stumbling upon Margaret Kilgallen’s work online. (Stumbling was actually how you explored the Internet in 1998.) It seemed so genuine and sincere to me. So completely rooted in the brain and heart. I loved it more than anything I’d ever seen, in any book or museum or Art History Class slideshow.

And though I didn’t really need another reason to be completely in love with her as an artist, this clip gave me one. She very eloquently summed up exactly why I loved hand-lettering so much, and made me feel better about staying on that path.

Anyway, I tell you all this for three reasons:

1. Your life will be a lot better if you Google “Margaret Kilgallen.”

2. Another artist worth following– Faythe Levine, whose list of credentials and achievements is too long to list, even on the infinite amount of real estate that is the Internet– has just begun her next film project… on sign painters. You need to follow this. Then see it when it comes out. If it’s even half as great as Handmade Nation, I’ll buy two tickets to opening night.

3. I just uploaded a handful of my own hand-lettering work to my site. Finally.

I own a copy of this and didn’t pay an arm and a leg for it,
dwellephant

Entry filed under: hand-lettering. Tags: , , , , , , .

FROM THE ARCHIVES: LEFT-BEHIND PAINTING FROM THE ARCHIVES: ADVERTISING

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ces  |  02/18/2010 at 9:19 am

    Your post prompted me to check to see if the Beautiful Losers DVD had been released. Happy to write that it has 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



