Me + Fancy Shoes and Clothes = ESPN Magazine

03/24/2010 at 4:56 pm 15 comments


Well, hello there, Neon Deion. To what do we owe this great pleasure? Turn to page 33, you say? Okay.


Doot doo-doo… Article about basketball, article about horses, ad for… whoa! Could it be?


It is! One of the pieces I collaborated with BVK on, for Stacy Adams. Let’s move on to the next image– a better look at this bad boy.


I didn’t make the clothes. Or the two dudes. But I did draw all those frames on that wall. It was one of a handful of things I did for ’em, and the first thing I’ve seen publicly. My friend/type sensei Tim Ryan found it a few days ago while thumbing through his copy of the magazine. Neither of us were expecting it, as agencies don’t typically tell their freelancers about their media buys. Needless to say it was a pretty cool surprise for the both of us.

You can also see a very tiny second piece I did when you visit the shiny new Stacy Adams Web site. Never in a million years would I have imagined my work being used for such a cool, classy and stylish cause.

Side note: If you were to travel back in time to 1996, and ask the coaches and teachers of Steubenville High School “Which member of the Class of ’96 will eventually wind up in ESPN magazine?” I’m pretty sure none of them would guess “the art nerd.” But lo and behold…

Entry filed under: Commercial Work, hand-lettering. Tags: , , , , , , .

Commission: Poem for Les DIRTY DRAWINGS!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kathy  |  03/24/2010 at 11:56 pm

    Wow, so cool. I LOVE the picture frames. Will you draw that for me for our engagement present?

    Reply
    • 2. dwellephant  |  03/25/2010 at 1:53 pm

      Uh, I already gave you your present: Being a role model to Justin. He wouldn’t be half the man he is today if it weren’t for me.

      Reply
  • 3. Pauly  |  03/25/2010 at 2:01 am

    Not too shabby!

    Reply
    • 4. dwellephant  |  03/25/2010 at 1:52 pm

      That’s what my paycheck said!

      Reply
  • 5. bb  |  03/25/2010 at 1:33 pm

    Yay, you! It makes me happy to see this.

    Reply
    • 6. dwellephant  |  03/25/2010 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks, super-fan! Considering your design tastes, I’m always happy to know I still hold some merit in your world!

      Reply
  • 7. Erin  |  03/25/2010 at 2:54 pm

    awesome! 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. molitorious  |  03/25/2010 at 3:18 pm

    NICE! Pretty cool stuff man.

    Reply
  • 9. Kevin & Robin  |  03/25/2010 at 5:30 pm

    Great job! We never thought of you as “the art nerd”. We always thought of you as one of Justin’s “crazy art friends” (but in a good way)! Looking to see more in the future 🙂

    Reply
    • 10. dwellephant  |  03/26/2010 at 12:38 pm

      Yeah. I dropped the whole “nerd” thing before I met you. (Sike…)

      Reply
  • 11. Simon  |  03/26/2010 at 9:14 am

    That is awesome! love the frames and love your style. They used it really well.

    Reply
    • 12. dwellephant  |  03/26/2010 at 12:37 pm

      Yeah. I had a great art director on this. Hope to keep working on this, too!

      Reply
  • 13. Doherty  |  03/26/2010 at 9:40 am

    FUCKING AWESOME DUDE!!!!

    Reply
  • 15. brett  |  04/06/2010 at 11:28 pm

    You are so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



