CAKESPEARE and SHAKESPEARE

02/14/2011 at 1:09 pm 4 comments

Let’s start with cake, because everyone likes cake. Even pies. I’ve seen pies eat cake. It’s pretty amazing.

The above painting was for Sunday’s wildly successful Iron Cupcake event. If you don’t know what Iron Cupcake is, read here. And if you can’t read, well, none of this is making any sense to you anyway, so: beachball leather walnut mattress!

Sunday’s event was the exciting conclusion to a season full of smaller Iron Cupcake competitions. 1800+ people showed up to taste what the 40+ competing bakers made. There were celebrity judges. Namely this guy and these folks. And there was a small art competition, too. Our theme was “Opposites Attract.” And as much as I wanted to paint Paula Abdul and MC Skat Kat, I knew better. The people were there to see cute cakes. And if anyone can make cakes cute, well, I can. And I did, based on crowd reaction. Nice to meet so many incredible people. And eat more sugar in four hours than I have in my entire life.

The night BEFORE Iron Cupcake, this painting showed up at Optimist Theater‘s annual Shakespeare In The Park fundraiser. I wasn’t able to attend this year’s party, but I’m hoping it went well. And I’m hoping the painting found a home.

The theater company is performing Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night this year. So, I decided to sum up the entire story in one 8″ x 10″ panel. Like Twelfth Night for Dummies, but illustrated. The Shakespeare I read in high school and college was more dark and tragic. This is more like The Princess Bride. But with more multi-directional unrequited love. And a girl dressed as a dude, to put it eloquently.

If you won it, let me know! And if you feel like you understand Shakespeare because of it, well, you’re welcome. Major Universities, I’m available to teach drama now.

Entry filed under: Illustration, Paintings. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

MY FIRST-EVER BABY SHOWER INVITATION THE FEBRUARY SCRAP HEAP

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kamilla Nyegaard-Larsen  |  02/21/2011 at 2:56 pm

    Haha, this is brilliant! I love the way you write!

    Reply
    • 2. dwellephant  |  02/21/2011 at 2:59 pm

      Thanks! How on Earth did you even find me?

      Reply
  • 3. Kamilla Nyegaard-Larsen  |  02/21/2011 at 3:17 pm

    I like reading blogs, and I happened to stumble across yours today. Lucky, eh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



