THE FEBRUARY SCRAP HEAP

02/19/2011 at 5:27 pm 4 comments

Here’s a giant batch of random pieces created over the last few months. Some of them found their way onto my Twitter feed. Others were dropped on to my dwellephant Facebook page. But let’s give ’em a full-on post, shall we?


This fine doodle comes from my friend Lucas. He’s a fan of my art, and decided to show it by sending me a drawing. It’s a super-hero he came up with, named Super Pumken. But every good super-hero deserves a noble sidekick, so…


I created “Pumpkin Pie Guy.” Upon completion of this drawing, I decided I need to be best friends with a crime-fighting piece of pumpkin pie that looks exactly like this.

I had a couple of live-art gigs over the November/December run, including one at a fundraiser for Sweet Water Organics. If you don’t know them, click here and read. They’re doing incredible things. Things that could directly benefit the future in bigger ways than anything I’ll ever do. They had local restaurants create dishes using their produce and fish, and offer them up in bite-size samples for the generously donating public. They made drinks with the herbs they grow, had DJs from both 91.7 FM WMSE and 88.9, and let me set up to do three big paintings. (Roughly 3′ x 5.5′!)

We auctioned off each painting, and wound up raising $800 or so for the organization. What did they look like? Well, I forgot my actual camera, but my phone stepped in to save the day:


At some point shortly after this, we got our first snowfall of the year. Or at least the first one that inspired me enough to paint something snow-related. Which I do, because snow is awesome. This wound up getting purchased soon after I posted it on Facebook, and now sits in the home of two of my favorite Milwaukee-talkies:

Speaking of “Milwaukee-talkies,”  the storytelling advocacy group known as Ex-Fabula found themselves in a pickle. Their usual designer was too booked up to create a program for their Winter event at Turner Hall Ballroom. I was more than happy to step in, as Ex-Fabula is one of those Milwaukee organizations I absolutely adore, but had never done work for. The theme was “Gift” in all its many definitions. And so, I drew some of those definitions:

Next up? Super-supporter Jane Somers. She’s one of my favorite people to see around town, and that’s not too difficult to do, as she seems to support EVERYTHING. (If everyone had even half her enthusiasm, people might realize just how truly incredible Milwaukee is.) Her grandmother once owned fitness centers, and had some pretty great fliers made to promote them. Which is where the text in this painting came from. The image? That’s grandma herself, with a friend, showing folks that traditional boating is boring:

Shortly after that, Alexandra asked me to paint her friends and their TREE-CLIMBING DOG. Yes, it’s true. And yes, it’s as amazing as you can imagine:

Then, Kay (who I met at the Sweet Water event) asked me to paint something for her beau, Mike, who also happens to be the funniest thing on Twitter. (Even funnier than fake Rahm.) She knew she wanted this specific electric guitar, and one acoustic guitar, but the rest was up to me. And since I claimed that folks liked how I painted birds, she suggested I maybe do that. So I did. The idea was the pieces would face one another, as if the birds were staring each other down (in the friendliest way possible, of course):

Then Layla asked for a quick little piece for super-buddy Anna. It was based on a date with a creepy guy, and “Oh, the poop.” Sometimes, those are all the details I need:

And finally, Diane asked me to paint her late family dog. Armed with a few sketchy old photos, and a love for drawing messy, shaggy things, she went home with this:

Still with me? You’re the best. Maybe next time, I won’t post a month’s worth of work all at once!

Entry filed under: Commission, hand-lettering, Illustration, Live Art, Paintings, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

CAKESPEARE and SHAKESPEARE LA TORTUGA

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mrc58  |  02/21/2011 at 11:59 am

    Ha ha, thanks! We love your work and your kind comments! [Even funnier than fake Rahm]. Keep up the good work!

    Reply
    • 2. dwellephant  |  02/21/2011 at 12:53 pm

      Thank YOU for keeping me going. It’s a pleasure to do work for good people.

      Reply
  • 3. bb  |  02/21/2011 at 3:26 pm

    FWIW – I like seeing a month of your work all at once. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. dwellephant  |  02/21/2011 at 7:12 pm

      I will keep this in mind. And by that, I mean, “I will probably do this then, from now on.”

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



