RAPPY HALLOWEEN

10/30/2012 at 10:16 am Leave a comment

Last Saturday was Made In Milwaukee’s “Creatures & Creators” event at Turner Hall. Since I fall under both categories, it was inevitable that I’d be asked to paint live art there. I was up in the balcony with the rest of the artists. I was the only one, however, who painted rappers.


Because you’re dying to know my process, know that I took 12 small canvas boards, painted them orange first, then added a different white blob shape on each one. I then did my best to turn each blob into a rapper that seemed to fit it perfectly. No sketching. No pre-drawing. Just straight paint to canvas.



(SOLD) Run DMC were the first two I painted. They’re also the only two I technically painted as monsters and rappers, because I apparently love complicating the process for myself. I abandoned this idea immediately after these two were finished.


(SOLD) Turning this shape into Big Boss Rick Ross was an absolute no-brainer.


Lil’ Wayne, a lil’ chubbier than real-life.


Humpty. Naturally.


(SOLD) Biz Markie, pre-Yo Gabba Gabba.



(SOLD) Public Enemy


(SOLD) A kinda’ blurry pic of the not-blurry-in-real-life Biggie painting.


Snoop Lion, back when he was just a plain ol’ Dogg.


(SOLD) NCIS: Los Angeles‘ very own L.L. Cool J

Somehow, I managed to NOT take a photo of the Slick Rick one I painted. Which is a shame, because I was pretty happy with how that one turned out. I’d take a pic now, but it went home that night with a very excited buyer. (As did most of these.) Big thanks to everyone who adopted these tiny MC paintings. Big thanks to everyone who stood around and tried to guess the rapper as I was painting them. One of the most fun live art gigs I’ve done in a minute!

Entry filed under: Live Art. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Birth of a Free Library dwella vs. Ella 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



