LIVE ART: RICK JAMESON ANNIVERSARY EXPERIENCE


Normally, I paint two or three pieces at live art gigs. That way, folks coming and going throughout the night have a chance to see a piece come to completion. (Or close to it, anyway.) Saturday night, I scrapped that, and spent the entire 4 1/2 hours painting one 18″ x 24″ piece instead. It started with the white hand and head above. Then the tiny details started coming in. The rest is history.

(click on the images to see ’em a little bigger!)


Most of the images came straight out of my head, ’cause there’s a lot of crap in there just dying to get out. Most of the words, however, are me messing around with the lyrics of the songs that Why B and E.Rich were playing. (Can we all agree that “rap patrol on the cat patrol” is better than “gat patrol?”) Did I mention I love painting when those dudes DJ? I do. ‘Cause they make your favorite DJ’s idea of a party look like a bridge tournament.


This is what happens when you ask E.Rich to play Drake.


Shout-out to my favorite Spike Lee character, and about a thousand other things.


High-five to the guy who got the Slick Rick reference.


Okay. So maybe some of the text is out of my head, too.


The finished piece! All in a day’s work. And sold to Eric, who runs one of my favorite shops in the city.

As always, big thanks to Nate and the Rogues Crew, for making Rogues Gallery one of my favorite places in MKE to both drink and paint. Same goes for Why B and E.Rich– two of my favorite DJs to paint to. And high-five to Fred Kaems for painting alongside me. Hassle him to share what he painted that night.

2 thoughts on “LIVE ART: RICK JAMESON ANNIVERSARY EXPERIENCE

Leave a comment